September 4th update

I’m going with a new way for naming my post updates, because eventually I’m going to run out of concept art to show at some point, that being said here is this week’s character Sho:

Sho.png

his full name is Sho Tsukuyomi, like Haru from last week he’s based partially off of a Shinto god, in this case Tsukuyomi:
tsukuyomi1

However I also took a lot of ideas on the color scheme from the shin megami tensei versions:

I kept with the Japanese inspired look from Haru, and worked on making a male counterpart overall, while its a little plain in comparison to previous characters, I really like it.

In other news I’ve been adding rough building to my city, and its starting to fill up nicely:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve added buildings to four sections of the city: a residential sector(yellow) , a warehouse sector (brown), a dojo region (Purple) and a factory area (Orange, which looks a little off because of the shine), and I’ve started adding a second business sector which is light blue.

I’m Also trying to decide the best way to move ahead with Rigging my template models, I have two options: A) Pre-rig the models with a complex rig for talking/body language and a simple rig for fight scenes and rapid movement, or B) do only the simple rig for templates and create the more complex rig for after I create each character’s unique appearance, and customise it for each appearance. Its a choice I have to be careful how I approach because it could lead to slowing my work flow later on. Either way I’ll keep you guys posted as I go.

Till next week

Marc Out~~

Published by

fademarc

Marc is a animation student and writer currently working in Ireland.

5 thoughts on “September 4th update”

    1. Well all of the high command officers are all inspired by Shinto gods in some form or another, I did the same thing with Haru. Its largely a symbolic choice, since at the start of the series these characters decide the paths the main characters take. Which is a really artsy way of saying I think they are cool names

      Like

      1. Oh yeah I get that. I just think literally calling them the shinto god is a bit on the nose as far as references go. I’d but some kind of corruption of the name. Like only use the first half or something.

        Like

      2. well that’s why I made the reference their second name, which over the course of the first season I think is only mentioned only a handful of times. Not to mention that I’ve see the concept work well in shows like Naruto and the Persona anime. And while I have three or four characters that follow that naming convention, I’ll keep that in mind when naming future characters.

        Like

Leave a comment