The masked man and template update

Here we have the character that I was looking forward to designing the most, the Villain of the first season, The masked man:

MaskedMan

I really wanted to go with something simple but striking, so I started with the Mask and worked outward, so the mask would be the main focal point of the whole design. The Mask itself is a combination of two masks, The Court of Owls from batman, and the white half of Shuuya’s mask from Mekakucity Actors:

When i looked at Shuuya’s mask I got the idea of the black teeth and used it to make the court of owls mask look more beast-like, I also toyed around with the idea of giving the mask nose holes, which I think I’ll keep it gives it a more skull like appearance and sets it apart a bit more from the court of owls.

In other news I’m making steady progress on my male template, partially thanks to my earlier female template, all that’s left is the hands, a little more definition around the legs and once again softening the face again:

MaleTemplate3

Overall I’m very happy with the result, but I have always found modelling guys easier than girls, after this I’ll have to work on texturing, I’ve largely been putting it off with the female template, but once I’m done with the Male template model I’ll have to cross that bridge. I’m also predicting a few problems with rigging, in particular the face and fingers and with creating Hair, in particular eyelashes, Blender has a few robust hair simulator, but that’s really only for larger masses of hair, rather than finer, more detailed ones. I’ll be looking up a few tutorials online, and if I find any good ones I might link them in future posts.

On a final note I’ve decided to rethink the city layout from a few posts ago, partially due to a massive oversight on my part: I forgot to include roads. It’s a pretty hilarious thing to overlook but it wasn’t until I was actually placing down blocks that I realised that I wasn’t leaving any space for people to get around! But I’ll keep you guys updated as I detail it out.

Till then

Marc Out~~

Published by

fademarc

Marc is a animation student and writer currently working in Ireland.

3 thoughts on “The masked man and template update”

  1. I don’t really like your masked man design. It looks more like a henchmen rather than a master mind. I would go with a more bulky frame that hides their body shape. And something to cover the back of the head to disguise how long their hair could be. Course those are just my opinions so don’t take them to heart too much.

    Like

    1. Actually I find those comments insightful, and one of the reasons I keep comments open is for just this sort of thing! Now when you say henchmen, what do you mean roughly? If its just the slim frame I can assure you that’s just my sloppy drawing skills, or is that the clothes or mask lack detail? I’d be happy to hear suggestions on what to add or subtract to make him look more like a mastermind

      Like

Leave a comment